Mac Usage

(Chris Pettifer) #1

Anyone else using Power Music on a Mac?!

This may sound like an odd question, but I own a Macbook, but have a PC for work. At the moment Power Music is installed on my work PC, but I shouldn’t really use it for this. So, I’ve just installed VMWare Fusion on my Macbook (evaluation version) and an evaluation version of Windows (Server 2003 of all things!) for VMWare to boot. I’ve just got Power Music running on there and everything seems to work beautifully… but that’s only at home!

Has anyone else tried to do this and used this set up successfully, or something similar. I figure buying a licence of VMWare and Windows is going to be cheaper and more convenient than buying a whole new PC just to run Power Music!

My only slight concern is that my Macbook screen is only 13.3 inches, so might be a bit small. I’ve been after an excuse to buy a 15 or 17 inch Macbook Pro!! :wink:

(Phil J) #2

I’ve been using a similar setup for a few months, MBP 13" running fusion and windows 7 with no problems.

I have windows 7 installed on the boot camp partition which you can run under fusion for setting up all the power music stuff, then when it comes to using it live you can boot direct into the bootcamp partition and have a pure windows machine.

I output to a 22" widescreen, 13" would be ok depending on where you put the page breaks.

• out of interest, what memory are you giving to windows?

(Chris Pettifer) #3

Not sure what memory settings I have setup - I just have whatever defaults Fusion or the Windows VHD have set up between them as I’ve only just installed everything. I will try and fine out later.